2009 Oregon Meeting Logistics

From GO Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Dates

  • GO consortium meeting: March 30, 31 (may go full day on the 31st)
  • Reference Genomes meeting: April 1

Venue

University of Oregon, Eugene, Oregon

Erb Memorial Union (EMU), Fir Room (An easy 5 minute walk from the New Oregon Motel.)

Map of campus, http://map.uoregon.edu/

(type 'fir room' into the search box to see where the meeting is exactly.)


Map of the EMU, http://emu.uoregon.edu/map_popup.php?x=-50&y=-50&level=main&arrow=SE

University of Oregon Wifi map http://geography.uoregon.edu/infographics/wireless/index.html

Registration

Please add yourself to the table of attendees below.

Registration Fee

Please bring cash (US dollars) or a check drawn on a US bank to the meeting. Checks should be made out to "The University of Oregon". A receipt will be provided.

$180 for both meetings March 30-April 1

$120 for only the Consortium Meeting March 30-31

$60 for only the Ref. Genome Meeting April 1

Lodging Information

New Oregon Motel
1655 Franklin Blvd. (roughly 1/2 mile from the meeting venue)
Eugene OR, 97403
(ph)541-683-3669
(fx)541-484-5556


Rate (available from March 29 - April 3): $83.99 + tax
Code: "GO Meeting"

http://www.bestwesternoregon.com/hotels/best-western-new-oregon-motel/

Wifi is provided free at the New Oregon Motel

Food

Catering will be provided by the University of Oregon catering department, and will include morning and afternoon breaks and lunch on the March 31st and April 1st. Lunch on the 30th will be on your own at local eating establishments near the meeting. A buffet style Thai dinner will be held at Mekalas on the evening of the first day, March 30, at 7 PM. Mekalas is an easy walk from the New Oregon Motel. Please indicate on the registration section below whether you will be attending the dinner. Vegetarian options will be available as much as possible.

Managing Remote Participation

We plan to use a combination of the GO Ready Conference and Stanford's WebEx to allow remote attendees to participate. The meeting room will be equipped with a single polycom conference phone, two remote polycom microphones, as well as a podium and podium mic which will be connected to the phone as well, projector and screen. Remote attendees will be asked to mute their lines unless they would like to speak. Someone will be monitoring remote attendees either on the WebEx 'raise your hand' feature or on a skype chat to ensure that remote attendees get an opportunity to be heard. All presenters are asked to use their mouse to interact with their slides so the WebEx participants can see what you are pointing to. Where possible we encourage remote participants to share a single connection to the teleconference as this will reduce the number of connections and likely increase the sound quality for everyone.

Transportation

Eugene Airport - Mahlon Sweet Field


Portland Airport - PDX


Transportation in Eugene: (Closest station to the New Oregon Motel is Agate Station, directly out front)

  • Eugene EMX busline (free)

https://www.ltd.org/viewroute.html?routeversion=8e0a2a80878aa71c442888f0360c71f8

Things To Do

Go Skiing!

City of Eugene Website

Visit Portland

Ruth Bascom Riverbank Trails are right behind the New Oregon Motel

Mt. Pisgah Arboretum

Hike at Howard Buford Recreation Area

Go for a run in Track Town USA!

Visit the Cascade Raptor Center

Visit the University of Oregon Museum of Natural and Cultural History

See Mt. St. Helens if you have time in the Portland area


Other Eugene information

Planet Eugene http://www.planeteugene.com/arts.htm

Eugene Weekly http://www.eugeneweekly.com/

Attendees

(please use the Arrival and Departure info columns if you would like to try a carpool to/from the airport)

Name Organization email (needed to set up your wireless access. An asterix indicates we have already generated your wireless access login information) Attending GOC (March 30-31) Attending Ref.Gen. (April 1) Food requirement (None, Veggie, Vegan) Yes, I plan on attending the dinner, March 30. Arrival Date/Time to Airport (EUG=Eugene or PDX=Portland) Departure Date/Time from Airport (EUG=Eugene or PDX=Portland)
Doug Howe ZFIN - University of Oregon dhowe@cs.uoregon.edu Yes Yes Yummy only please Yes
Judy Blake MGI&GO - The Jackson Laboratory * Yes Yes Yummy only please Yes PDX, 8:14 pm rental car PDX friday 6 am
Suzanna Lewis BBOP&GO (LBNL) suzi@berkeleybop.org* Yes Yes Yes TBD TBD
Kara Dolinski P-POD - Princeton kara@genomics.princeton.edu* Yes Yes Yummy only please Yes
Donghui Li TAIR donghui stanford edu* Yes Yes Yes EUG 03/29, 11.25am EUG 04/02, 8am
Tanya Berardini TAIR tberardi _at_ acoma dot stanford dot edu* Yes No Yes EUG 3/29 345pm EUG 3/31 1245pm
Mike Cherry SGD - Whatsamatter U cherry@stanford.edu* Yes Yes Yes EUG 03/30 - 1000 am EUG 04/01 - 600 pm
Stan Laulederkind RGD - Medical College of Wisconsin slaulederkind@mcw.edu* Yes Yes Yes PDX 03/29 11:07 am EUG 04/02 9:50 am
Rama Balakrishnan SGD- Stanford University rama@genome.stanford.edu* Yes Yes Vegan if possible. Veggie works Yes EUG 03/29 8:40 PM EUG 04/01 4:50 PM
Karen Christie SGD - Stanford University kchris@genome.stanford.edu* Yes Yes Yes EUG 03/29 8:40pm EUG 04/01 6:10pm
Seth Carbon BBOP - Berkeley [sjcarbon] _at_ [berkeleybop] _dot_ [org]* Yes Yes None Yes TBD TBD
Chris Mungall BBOP - Berkeley * Yes Yes Veg Yes TBD TBD
Karen Eilbeck U of Utah keilbeck@genetics.utah.edu* Yes No Vegan Yes 12:17 PM, Portland, OR (PDX) Sunday 5:30 PM, Portland, OR (PDX) Tuesday
Eva Huala TAIR huala@acoma.stanford.edu* Yes Yes none Yes EUG 03/29, 8:40 pm EUG 04/01, 6:08 pm
Amina Abdulla BBOP - Berkeley [aabdulla] _at_ [berkeleybop] _dot_ [org]* Yes No None Yes 3/29 (OAK) 05:45 PM - (PDX) 07:20 PM 4/1 Depart (PDX) 09:30 PM - (OAK) at 11:15 PM
Ranjana Kishore WormBase - Caltech ranjana@caltech.edu* Yes Yes Veggie Yes PDX 03/29 12:05pm EUG 04/01 6:00pm
Susan Tweedie FlyBase - Cambridge sart2@gen.cam.ac.uk* Yes Yes None Yes EUG 03/27 17:27 EUG 04/02 13:54
Peter D'Eustachio Reactome Peter.D'Eustachio@nyumc.org* yes no None Yes PDX 03/29 11:07 AM PDX 04/01 12:05 PM
Michelle Giglio Institute for Genome Sciences mgiglio@som.umaryland.edu* Yes No None Yes TBD TBD
Paul Thomas SRI paul.thomas@sri.com* Yes Yes None Yes EUG 03/30 - 1015 am EUG 04/02 - 1045 am
David Hill MGI - The Jackson Laboratory dph@informatics.jax.org* Yes No Yes TBD TBD
Melissa Haendel ZFIN mhaendel@uoneuro.uoregon.edu* Yes No None Yes
Daniel Renfro EcoliWiki bluecurio@gmail.com* Yes Yes none Yes PDX 03-29-09 01:05PM PDX 04-02-09 11:25AM
Fiona McCarthy AgBase fmccarthy@cvm.msstate.edu* Yes Yes none Yes PDX 29/03 11am
Lakshmi Pillai AgBase pillai@cvm.msstate.edu* Yes Yes None Yes PDX 29/03 11 am
Teresia Buza AgBase tbuza@cvm.msstate.edu* Yes Yes None Yes PDX 29/03 11 am
Brenley McIntosh EcoliWiki brenleymcintosh@gmail.com* Yes Yes None Yes PDX 03-29-09 01:05PM PDX 04-02-09 11:25AM
Scott Durkin J. Craig Venter Institute sdurkin@jcvi.org* Yes No None Yes TBD TBD
Marcus Chibucos Institute for Genome Sciences mchibucos at som dot umaryland dot edu* Yes No Veggie Yes 29Mar09/07:06pm PDX 01Apr09/06:30a PDX
Pascale Gaudet dictybase pgaudet at northwestern dot edu* yes yes none yes EUG EUG April 2nd- 10h47 AM
Name Organization email (needed to set up your wireless access) Attending GOC (March 30-31) Attending Ref.Gen. (April 1) Food requirement (None, Veggie, Vegan) Yes, I plan on attending the dinner, March 30. Arrival Date/Time to Airport (EUG=Eugene or PDX=Portland) Departure Date/Time from Airport (EUG=Eugene or PDX=Portland)

Remote Attendees

Name Organization email (needed to set up your remote access) Attending GOC (March 30-31) Attending Ref.Gen. (April 1) Calling in alone or in a group (with whom and from where, if known)
Jennifer Deegan EMBL-EBI jdeegan at ebi.ac.uk Yes No Either from the EBI or home.
Jane Lomax EMBL-EBI jane at ebi.ac.uk Yes No Either from the EBI or home.
Emily Dimmer EMBL-EBI (GOA group) edimmer at ebi.ac.uk Yes Yes Either from the EBI or home.
Rachael Huntley EMBL-EBI (GOA group) huntley at ebi.ac.uk Yes Yes From home.
Valerie Wood Pombase val at sanger.ac.uk Yes Yes Either from EBI or home.
Midori Harris EMBL-EBI (GO) midori at ebi dot ac dot uk yes part of it home
Li Ni MGI ln at informatics dot jax dot org yes yes home
Dan Barrell EMBL-EBI (GOA group) dbarrell at ebi dot ac dot uk yes no Either from the EBI or home.
Alexander Diehl MGI adiehl at informatics dot jax dot org yes yes from work, probably in a group
Mary Dolan MGI mdolan at informatics dot jax dot org yes yes from work, probably in a group
Kimberly Van Auken WormBase vanauken at caltech dot edu yes yes from work (Princeton), probably with at least one other person
Ruth Lovering BHF-UCL r.lovering at ucl.ac.uk as much as I can yes Home, alone.
Varsha Khodiyar BHF-UCL v.khodiyar at ucl.ac.uk yes yes From home
Serenella Ferro UniprotKB/Swiss-Prot Serenella.FerroRojas at isb-sib.ch Yes Yes From the SIB in Geneva or home.
Harold Drabkin MGI hjd at informatics dot jax dot org yes yes from Jackson Labs, most likely in group
Linda Hannick J. Craig Venter Institute (JCVI), Informatics lhannick at jcvi dot org Yes No From JCVI or home, possibly one other person.
Peter Good NHGRI goodp at mail dot nih dot gov Unlikely Yes From work or home.
Erika Feltrin Padua University - Grape Genome erika at cribi dot unipd dot it only on 31 morning No From home
Rex Chisholm dictyBase r-chisholm at northwestern dot edu  ?  ?  ?
Mike Livstone Princeton livstone@genomics.princeton.edu Maybe Yes Either from work (Princeton) with Kimberly or alone from jury duty, if possible
Jim Hu Texas A&M jimhu@tamu.edu Yes Yes Mostly from work as conflicts (e.g. teaching) permit. Maybe from home
Thomas Waechter TU Dresden thomas dot waechter at biotech dot tu-dresden dot de Yes (Monday only) No From home
Debby Siegele Texas A&M d-siegele@tamu.edu Yes Yes M,T-alone from my office, W-with Jim Hu from his office

Contact

Please contact Jon Knight if you have any questions: knight at uoneuro dot uoregon dot edu